Sharing the amazing F3 program with kids

Yesterday I stumbled on an incredible blog post from Roy Wiggins:

I desperately wanted (and still do!) to figure out how to 3d print the last creation in his blog post. Wiggins pointed me to a program by Reza Ali (and sorry for saying “Renza” in the first video) that he thought would do the trick:

I’m grateful to both of their help in pointing me to and helping me understand how this program works. I still don’t quite know how to make the shape from Wiggins’s blog, but part of the reason is that the F3 program is so cool that I’ve been having a ton of fun just playing around with it. (The other part is that I don’t know what I’m doing at all . . . . 🙂 )

Tonight I showed the program to the boys and played with some “sums” and “differences” of 3d shapes.

Here’s the introduction and what the boys thought a few shapes would look like:

I let the boys pick some shapes that they thought would be fun to see. Here’s what my 5th grader thought would be fun:

We wrapped up with my older son picking a few shapes. He wanted to move some shapes left and right which I’d not done before, but luckily the program was intuitive enough for me to guess how to do it. Small victories . . . . The next thing I’d like to learn how to do is angle the shapes differently so that I can make the “Prince Rupert Cube” shape, which was one of our first ever 3d printing projects:

A 3D printing project with the “Prince Rupert Cube”

The last thing that we looked at was a shape created by removing a cube from an octahedron:

So, I love this program. Can’t wait to learn more about it and maybe even get to the point where I’m using 1% of its capabilities!

Leave a Reply

